Saturday, August 10, 2019

Book 6 of 7

Devil in a Blue Dress is the first book in the Easy Rawlins series.  The protagonist is Ezekiel “Easy” Porterhouse Rawlins, an unlicensed private investigator who does the best he can for his clients.  When the game gets too rough, Easy calls up his sometime friend and associate, Raymond “Mouse” Alexander - a gangster who is so tough every other bad man in town calls him Sir.

Devil in a Blue Dress by Walter Mosley
Mouse is Easy's alter ego; he's the dark side of Easy.  The whole thing plays well throughout the entire series.

In between times, the reader gets to find out what life was like for a colored man in the post-WWII era, and gets a decent tour through black culture.  Meanwhile the author builds a complex plot with a plethora of distinct characters.

If you're interested in a good detective novel, you can't go wrong with this one.

No comments:

Post a Comment